Kirk Sandall War Memorial Dedication

You are here: Home / News / Local News / Kirk Sandall War Memorial Dedication

24 Jul 2017
On Saturday 22 July, at the invitation of the Committee of the Friends of Kirk Sandall War Memorial, Dame Rosie Winterton opened the Service for the Dedication Ceremony and also lay a wreath on behalf of families who will not be represented at the Dedication Service.

Some years ago Brian Keefe from Kirk Sandall, Doncaster, promoted the idea that Kirk Sandall should have its own war memorial in the village. Sadly Brian died suddenly two years ago, but his wife Jean, took on the
mantle to carry on his wishes.  Working together the committee of the Friends of Kirk Sandall War Memorial have raised funds over the past three years to enable a memorial to be erected at the Coronation Gardens in Kirk Sandall, in recognition of 18 local servicemen who gave their lives in the service of their country during both World Wars. 

Dame Rosie said “Last week I chaired a debate in the Houseof Commons on the 100th anniversary of the battle of Pashcendale.  Over 1.1 million Service men and women lost their lives during the First World War and this memorial allows local people here in Kirk Sandall to make their own dedication and remember their sacrifice so that they may not be forgotten.

It was an honour to have been invited by the Friends of Kirk Sandall War Memorial to open the dedication service and I just wanted to acknowledge and thank everyone involved.”

Also remembered where those whose ultimate sacrifice was made in the second world war, including Telegraphist, Thomas McCaffery of the Royal Navy, who lived in King George Square with his parents, and whose niece Ann Humphries is on the committee, together with the sisters, Brenda Whittaker, Christine Strachan and niece, Jane Miller of Flight Sergeant Navigator Peter W Harris of Lancaster Avenue.

Pictured with Rosie are Jean Keefe, Mayor Ros Jones and John Holt - Vice Lord Lieutenant


Rosie Winterton MP for Doncaster Central
This site is funded from the Parliamentary Members Communications Allowance
website by Hudson Berkley Reinhart Ltd